WU Gutmann Center

Founded in 2001, the WU Gutmann Center for Portfolio Management seeks to bring together practice and theory, as the financial expertise of internationally renowned experts meets the innovative ideas and research ambitions of young domestic talent.
The aim of the strategic partnership is the world-wide exchange of knowledge to develop the scientific basis for portfolio management and establish Austria as a premier location in the industry.

Promote knowledge, disseminate knowledge, share knowledge


Three core activities make the Gutmann Center a focal point of financial research:

  • Creation of knowledge (research)
    Support for young research talent in the form of master thesis grants, development of research papers, international research awards

  • Dissemination of knowledge (education)
    PhD Course Fellows, doctoral programmes, research seminars

  • Bridging (building bridges between academics and practitioners)
    Public lectures, symposia, Gutmann Academy, Gutmann Private Wealth Management Seminar, case studies


International prestige


Support has already been given to numerous research studies in various fields of finance, internationally renowned post-doctoral students have been recruited and dozens of public lectures have been hosted and also benefited clients and business associates of Bank Gutmann.

Among the honorary members of the Academic Advisory Board are industry pioneers such as Nobel Laureate William Sharpe. Sharpe, who is known internationally for having developed the Sharpe Ratio, on the parallels between experiences in the United States and at Bank Gutmann: “In the US, collaboration between research and practice has resulted in a substantial acceleration of scientific and technological progress.”

Website of WU Gutmann Center for Portfolio Management
X

WU Gutmann Center

2001 gegründet, steht das WU Gutmann Center for Portfolio Management für die Verknüpfung von Praxis und Theorie. Finanzwirtschaftliches Know­-how international renommierter Experten trifft auf innovative Ideen und den Forschungsdrang des heimischen Nachwuchses.
Ziel der strategischen Partnerschaft ist der weltweite Wissensaustausch, um die wissenschaftlichen Grundlagen für das Portfoliomanagement auszubauen und Österreich als Top-Standort in der Branche zu etablieren.

Wissen fördern, Wissen vermitteln, Wissen austauschen


Drei Kernbereiche machen das Gutmann Center zu einem finanzwirtschaftlichen Forschungszentrum:

  • Creation of Knowledge (Forschung)
    Unterstützung von Nachwuchsforschern in Form von Master Thesis Grants, Erarbeitung von Forschungspapers, Ausschreibung internationaler Forschungspreise

  • Dissemination of Knowledge (Lehre)
    PhD Course Fellows, Doktorratskurse, Research­-Seminare

  • Bridging (Brückenschlag zwischen Wissenschaft und Praxis)
    Public Lectures, Symposien, Gutmann Academy, Gutmann Private Wealth Management­-Seminar, Case Studies


Internationales Renommee


Zahlreiche Forschungsarbeiten in unterschiedlichen Bereichen der Finanzwirtschaft wurden bereits unterstützt, international renommierte Post­-Doktoranden eingestellt und Dutzende Public Lectures veranstaltet, von denen auch Kunden und Geschäftspartner der Bank Gutmann profitieren konnten.

Zu den Ehrenmitgliedern des Academic Advisory Board zählen Branchenpioniere wie Nobelpreisträger William Sharpe. Sharpe, der durch die Entwicklung der “Sharpe Ratio” weltweit Bekanntheit erlangte, über die Parallelen zwischen den Erfahrungen in den Vereinigten Staaten und der Bank Gutmann: “Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Forschung und Praxis hat in den USA zu einer erheblichen Beschleunigung von wissenschaftlichem und technologischem Fortschritt geführt."

Zur Website des WU Gutmann Centers for Portfolio Management
X