Sustainability starts with a sense of responsibility

"Acting responsibly is the key driver of Gutmann’s sustained success. We recommend to our clients only solutions that are in keeping with our business model and which we can endorse without reservations. This approach has enabled us to successfully manage even critical periods and crises in the capital markets with a positive outcome for the Bank.

In securing the implementation of our long-term business goals, a sensible management of resources, a performance-driven communicative environment for our staff and an agile organisation with efficient (IT) processes are of prime importance."

Frank W. Lippitt lic.oec. HSG
Chairman of the board of management of Bank Gutmann AG
Partner of Bank Gutmann AG

Whoever is entrusted with investing funds for clients must act responsibly. Long-term, there is simply no alternative. Responsibility, along with the pursuit of sustainability, is the basis on which concrete guidance for implementing this value is developed. As a key prerequisite, the goal of sustainability must be firmly embedded in the value system of the persons involved and in the organisation’s DNA. Otherwise the concept of sustainability will always be at risk of becoming just a fashion statement.

Gutmann’s DNA can be felt in every conversation. Many of the approaches resulting from our value system are shared by us with our clients and ultimately lead to specific investment strategies, such as those that are dedicated to demographic trends like our portfolio of nursing homes, for example. But we also offer more focused investment strategies that take their guidance from the client’s set of values. The great demand for such strategies confirms that we are on the right track.
We offer our clients the opportunity of investing with us in an ethical and sustainable manner. Gutmann’s sustainability team, headed by Chief Investment Officer Friedrich Strasser, has a firm foothold in the strategically important and market-driven departments and controls and monitors the development of individual strategies.

The Bank’s willingness to take on responsibility is also reflected in many of the activities and initiatives it pursues beyond its day-to-day business. From development projects in South America to social projects in Austria, Gutmann supports people who in all likelihood will never be its clients.

Nachhaltigkeit beginnt mit Verantwortungsbewusstsein

"Verantwortungsbewusstes Handeln ist der entscheidende Faktor für den nachhaltigen Erfolg von Gutmann. Wir empfehlen unseren Kunden nur Lösungen, die im Einklang mit unserem Geschäftsmodell stehen und die wir uneingeschränkt vertreten können. Mit dieser Haltung konnten wir auch kritische Phasen und Krisen an den Kapitalmärkten erfolgreich für den Fortgang der Bank meistern.

Um die Umsetzung unserer langfristigen Unternehmensziele zu gewährleisten, sind der zweckmäßige Umgang mit Ressourcen, ein leistungsorientiertes, kommunikatives Umfeld für unsere Mitarbeiter und eine anpassungsfähige Organisation mit effizienten (IT) Prozessen von hoher Bedeutung."


Frank W. Lippitt lic.oec. HSG
Vorsitzender des Vorstandes der Bank Gutmann AG
Partner der Bank Gutmann AG



Wer für Kunden Gelder veranlagen darf, muss verantwortungsbewusst handeln. Langfristig geht es gar nicht anders. Verantwortungsbewusstsein als Wert erfährt durch Nachhaltigkeit konkrete Handlungsanweisungen zur Umsetzung dieses Wertes. Entscheidend ist die Einbettung auf allen Ebenen in das Wertesystem der handelnden Personen und in die DNA eines Unternehmens. Sonst läuft der Begriff der Nachhaltigkeit immer Gefahr, zu einem reinen Modelabel zu verkommen.

Die DNA Gutmanns wird im Gespräch spürbar. Viele der sich aus dem Wertesystem ergebenden Handlungsweisen teilen wir mit unseren Kunden und münden unter anderem in speziellen Investmentstrategien. Beispielsweise solchen, die sich demographischen Trends widmen, wie unser Pflegeheimportfolio. Aber es gibt auch pointiertere Investmentstrategien, die sich stärker am Wertekatalog des Kunden orientieren. Die große Nachfrage nach diesen Strategien bestätigt unseren Weg.
Unseren Kunden bieten wir die Möglichkeit, gemeinsam mit uns ethisch und nachhaltig zu veranlagen. Das Gutmann Nachhaltigkeitsteam unter der Leitung von Chief Investment Officer Mag. Friedrich Strasser ist in den strategisch wichtigen und marktnahen Abteilungen verankert und lenkt und überwacht die Entwicklungen der jeweiligen Strategien.

Die Bereitschaft der Bank, Verantwortung zu übernehmen, wird auch durch viele andere Aktivitäten und Initiativen - abseits des Tagesgeschäfts - erkennbar. Von Entwicklungsprojekten in Südamerika bis hin zu sozialen Projekten in Österreich unterstützt Gutmann diejenigen, die aller Voraussicht nach niemals Kunden werden.
X