Private Markets

Private equity is a special form of investment. Due to the long-term nature of private equity, careful selection of investments is particularly important. Key decision criteria are the quality of the value added on the one hand and a track record of steady value growth on the other.

On vineyards and farmland


The relationship between private equity and conventional asset classes is very similar to the relationship between viniculture and agriculture. In the case of farmland, the farmer is free to decide from year to year if and what to sow. A vineyard, on the other hand, requires constant attention over years, vines have to be maintained and, at the beginning of a year, the grower does not know how the grapes will turn out. What he does know, however, is that some years will produce excellent vintages that will more than compensate him for years of inferior quality.

The key requirement in private equity is therefore the ability to manage portfolio companies in such a way that they will achieve operational excellence and to turn investment ideas into measurable, profitable results. This is not achieved over a few quarters, but takes years.

Investments with a long horizon


With private equity, companies are ideally managed not to achieve quarterly targets but to meet long-term strategic goals. At the same time, control can be exercised faster and more directly at the operational level. In terms of results, private equity differs from stocks by its long-term and anti-cyclical outperformance.

A partner with experience


Gutmann combines exclusive access to leading private equity managers with bespoke solutions for institutional clients, family offices and high-net-worth individuals. Gutmann’s collaboration with leading, specially selected general partners, limited partners and secondary buyers offers its clients the significant benefit of gaining access to expertise and networks in the international market. On this basis, services have been developed over the past 20 years that have produced proven results.

Picking the right components


Bank Gutmann clients have access to highly qualified private equity managers to make their private equity investments a success. Due diligence reviews, investment transaction and monitoring are conducted on the basis of a jointly developed strategy while a customised reporting system provides maximum transparency of financial performance. Comprehensive relationship management is provided personally and at the highest level that a private bank can offer.

Private Markets

Private Equity ist eine besondere Form der Veranlagung. Der Langfristcharakter von Private Equity macht die sorgfältige Auswahl der Investments so bedeutsam. Qualität der Wertschöpfung einerseits und kontinuierliche Wertsteigerung in der Vergangenheit andererseits sind dabei wesentliche Entscheidungskriterien.

Von Weinbergen und Äckern


Der Vergleich von Private Equity und konventionellen Anlageklassen weist große Ähnlichkeiten zum Vergleich des Wein- und Ackerbaus auf. Der Acker lässt in jedem Jahr die Entscheidung frei, ob und welche Saat ausgebracht werden soll. Der Weinberg hingegen muss über die Jahre laufend bewirtschaftet und die Reben gepflegt werden, wobei man jedoch zu Beginn des Jahres nichts über die Qualität des Jahrgangs weiß. Was man allerdings weiß, ist, dass über die Jahre stets auch herausragende Jahrgänge dabei sind, die für die schwächeren Jahrgänge mehr als entschädigen.

Die wesentliche Essenz von Private Equity ist daher die Fähigkeit, die Portfoliogesellschaften zu ihrer operativen Exzellenz zu führen und den Investmentgedanken in messbare, gewinnbringende Resultate umzuwandeln. Das ist keine Frage von Quartalen, sondern von Jahren.

Investments mit Weitblick


Bei Private Equity richtet sich die Führung der Unternehmen idealerweise nicht nach Quartalszielen, sondern nach langfristigen, strategischen Zielsetzungen. Gleichzeitig wird jedoch eine raschere und direktere Einflussnahme auf operativer Ebene ermöglicht. Im Ergebnis unterscheidet sich Private Equity von Aktien durch die langfristige und antizyklische Outperformance.

Ein Partner mit Erfahrung


Gutmann verbindet den exklusiven Zugang zu führenden Private Equity-Managern mit maßgeschneiderten Lösungen, sowohl für institutionelle Investoren und Family Offices als auch für vermögende Privatkunden. Die Partnerschaft mit führenden, speziell ausgewählten General Partners, Limited Partners und Secondary Buyers ist dabei ein wertvoller Vorteil, der den Zugang zur Expertise und dem Netzwerk im internationalen Markt eröffnet. So konnte innerhalb der letzten 20 Jahre ein Angebot entwickelt werden, das sich erfolgreich bewährt hat.

Die Wahl der richtigen Komponenten


Für eine erfolgreiche Investition im Bereich Private Equity erhalten Kunden der Bank Gutmann Zugang zu hochqualifizierten Private Equity-Managern. Due Diligence, Abwicklung und Beobachtung der Investments erfolgen auf Basis einer gemeinsam erarbeiteten Strategie, während ein maßgeschneidertes Reportingsystem die bestmögliche Transparenz über finanzielle Entwicklungen bietet. Die umfassende Kundenbetreuung erfolgt individuell und auf dem höchsten Niveau, das eine Privatbank bieten kann.